My Name is Lucy Barton – Elizabeth Strout (2016)

heavenali

lucybarton

It seems as if just about everyone has been reading this book this year, and I, as so often, came rather late to the party. Longlisted for this year’s Booker Prize – My Name is Lucy Barton was also hugely popular with readers. It is a novel I have been told by others will make it on to their books of the year list – that’s a lot to live up to, and yes, I enjoyed it a lot but it hasn’t made my end of year list (it seems I have read a lot of superb books this year) – which I shall post tomorrow, if I get my act together. Still, this novel is deserving of all the accolades it has received, I loved the restrained, subtlety of the writing, and was impressed with how much is actually going on in less than 200 pages, when, on the…

View original post 712 more words

Published by

tayoulevy

retired from teacher in philosophy, i try harder to keep up which is not always easy. I love various sites very interesting at WP and hope to find others. I will sart with two set of notes for preparation of works on memory and on the body. The more interaction, the better

Leave a Reply

